Investor

For the Investor

If you are a new or experienced investor with your eye on OKGNtech, the OKGN Angel Summit is a great opportunity for you to plug-in. This investor-led program was designed to expose accredited investors to the world of angel investing through a guided, hands-on process where a small venture capital fund is raised, deals are screened, and an actual investment in a startup is made.

Participants will go through an 10-week series of structured investor meetings including company reviews, founder pitches, and due diligence. The culmination is a public pitch event on March 12th, 2020 where the finalist companies make their final pitch, and the winner is awarded investment from the fund.

The 2020 Summit launches on January 6th, 2020 and will consist of twenty to forty investors each willing to invest 10 weeks and $5,000, to create a venture capital fund. Twenty to forty startups will apply to pitch, engage with the investors and receive feedback from the group. Additionally, companies who make it through to the semi-finals will receive mentorship from AO’s EIRs.

In the end, 6 finalists pitch to an audience of community members at the March 12, 2020 finale, with the winner receiving an investment from the fund. The goal is to invest a minimum of $100,000 in the winning startup.

 

The Cost

The cost to participate in the OKGN Angel Summit as an investor is $5,500. This includes a $5,000 investment in the fund and $500 used for legal and administrative costs. Investors must qualify as accredited (this is defined by the BC Securities Commission). The Fund Manager will have the final decision as to the participation of any investor in the fund.

 

The Commitment

The program will be conducted over an 10-week period starting in January 2020. Participating investors need to be committed to attending weekly sessions. While occasional absences are understood, the value, both individually and for the collective, is derived from active participation.

The Schedule

Monday, December 2

Application and cheque deadline

Monday, December 9

Information Session

Monday, January 6

Kick-off meeting

Thursday, January 9

Signing Party

Monday, January 13

Select top 24 – Quarter Finals

Monday, January 20

Quarter Final 3 minute pitches and mixer

Tuesday, January 21

Quarter Final 3 minute pitches and mixer

Monday, January 27

Select top 12 – Semi Finals

Monday, February 3

Semi Final 10 minute pitches

Tuesday, February 4

Semi Final 10 minute pitches

Monday, February 10

Select top 6 – Finalists

Tuesday, February 18

Due Diligence kickoff and training

Monday, February 24

Due Diligence

Monday, March 2

Due Diligence

Monday, March 9

Due Diligence (if needed)

Thursday, March 12

Finale

Get Invested

If you are a new or experienced investor with your eye on OKGNtech, the OKGN Angel Summit is a great opportunity for you to get connected. Apply below.